What is STEM?

An explanation of what STEM is and Alabama’s initiative in STEM


Executive Order No. 721

The STEM Council was formed by Governor Ivey under Executive Order No. 721 in September 2020.

The purpose of the Council is “to advise the Legislature, the Governor, the Lieutenant Governor, and the State Department of Education on ways to improve STEMrelated education, career awareness, and workforce development” across Alabama.

The Council builds on the work of Alabama’s Roadmap for STEM Success and is situated administratively within AIDT in the Department of Commerce.


Executive Committee

Leadership to the Council is provided by its 12-member Executive Committee, which is managed by Dr. Lee Meadows, Executive Director and chaired by Dr. Neil Lamb, VP for Education Outreach at the HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology.

Dr. Lee Meadows
Alabam STEM Council
Executive Director

Rene McNeal
Alabama STEM Council
STEM Ecosystems Coordinator

Charles Nash, At Large
Sr. Vice-Chancellor Emeritus University of Alabama System

Neil Lamb, Chair
HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology

Lawrence Cooper
Alabama STEM Council
Program Manager

Kathryn Lanier, At Large
Director of STEM Education Outreach
Southern Research

Congressional District 1

Terry Burkle
Executive Director
Balwin County Education Coalition

Congressional District 2

Dawn Morrison
Computer Science State Administrator
Alabama State Dept of Education

Congressional District 3

Charisse Stokes
Executive Director

Congressional District 4

Vicki Karolewics
Wallace State Community College

Congressional District 5

Neil Lamb
HudsonAlpha Institute for Biotechnology

Congressional District 6


Congressional District 7

Adrienne Starks
Founder and CEO
STREAM Innovations

Members of the
Alabama STEM Council

The Council has 49 total members drawing from the 5 sectors of industries, K-12 & higher education, CTE/postsecondary training, informal STEM, and public officials/leaders. These members also occupy seats in our six (6) working groups.

Jimmy Baker
Alabama Community College System

Calvin Briggs
Executive Director
Southern Center for Broadening Participation in STEM

Greg Canfield
Secretary of Commerce
Alabama Department of Commerce

George Clark
Manufacture Alabama

Elisabeth Davis
Assistant State Superintendent of the Office of Student Learning,
Alabama State Board of Education

Ronald Davis
Alabama Automotive Manufacturers Association

Virginia Davis
Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering
Auburn University

Tammy Dunn
Vice President for Academic Affairs
A+ College Ready

Mary Lou Ewald
Director of STEM Outreach Center
Auburn University College of Sciences and Mathematics

Jeff Gray
Professor, Department of Computer Science
University of Alabama

Andre Harrison
Vice President

Scott Haywood
Staff Engineer, Technical Development Maint & Equiq Service Dept
Honda Alabama Auto Plant

Jimmy Hull
Assistant State Superintendent for Career and Technical Education & Workforce Development, ALSDE

Liz Huntley
The Hope Institute, Co-Founder Lightfoot, Franklin & White LLC, of Counsel

Kathryn Lanier
Director of STEM Education Outreach
Southern Research

Sandy Ledwell
Alabama Math, Science, and Technology Initiative

Eric Mackey
State Superintendent of Education

Tim McCartney
Alabama Workforce Council

Cynthia McCarty
Economics Professor
Jacksonville State University

Kevin McGhaw
Southeast Regional Office of STEM Engagement, NASA

Thomas McNeal
Workforce Development Manager
Alabama Power

Tina Miller-Way
Chair, Discovery Hall Programs
Dauphin Island Sea Lab

Paul Morin
Alabama Smart Foundation

Keith Philips
Executive Director,
Alabama Technology Network

Jim Purcell
Executive Director,
Alabama Commission on Higher Education

Adrienne Starks
Founder and CEO
STREAM Innovations

Christy Swaid
Founder and CEO
HEAL, Inc. (Healthy Eating Active Living)

Kay Taylor
Vice President of Education
U.S. Space and Rocket Center

Amy Templeton
President and CEO
McWane Science Center

Brenda Terry
Executive Director
Alabama Mathematics Science, and Technology Education Coalition

Fitzgerald Washington
Secretary of ADOL
Alabama Department of Labor

Tina Watts
Community Investor
The Boeing Company